ACTS Leadership

The business and affairs of the Association, including but not limited to approval of Association Policies and creation of committee charges, are managed by or under the direction of the Board of Directors. 

ACTS is a not-for-profit corporation incorporated in the District of Columbia. The Association is governed by its bylaws, which are reviewed by the Board of Directors on a regular basis. Please click here to view our current bylaws approved November 2014.

Board of Directors

Emma Meagher President

Emma A. Meagher, MD

Director, Translational Research Education, Institute of Translational Medicine and Therapeutics
Vice Dean and Chief Clinical Research Officer
Senior Associate Vice Provost, Human Research
Associate Professor, Medicine and Pharmacology
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
8032 Maloney Building
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283

Harry P. Selker, MD, MSPH

Harry P. Selker, MD, MSPH

Dean, Tufts University Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Executive Director, Tufts Medical Center Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies
Tufts Medical Center
800 Washington Street, # 63
Boston, MA 02111

Robert Kimberly, MD President-Elect

Robert P. Kimberly, MD

Howard L. Holley Professor of Medicine
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Director, UAB Center for Clinical and Translational Science
1825 University Boulevard, SHEL 172D
Birmingham, AL 35294-2182

Emma Meagher, MD

Fred Meyers, MD, MACP

Vice Dean, UC Davis School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine
University of California, Davis
2315 Stockton Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95817

David Center, MD

Associate Provost, Translation Research
Director, Boston University Translational Science Institute
Gordon and Ruth Snider Professor of Pulmonary Medicine
Chief, Section of Pulmonary, Allergy, Sleep and Critical Care Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
Boston Medical Center
72 East Concord Street, R-3
Boston, MA 02118



Mark Robert Burge, MD

Deputy Director, Clinical and Translational Science Center
Regents’ and Distinguished Professor of Medicine 
Department of Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism

University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
Internal Medicine/Endocrinology
MSC10 5550
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque NM 87131-0001


Gayathri Devi, MS, PhD

Associate Professor, Departments of Surgery and Pathology
Associate Director, Research Education, Surgery
Program Director, Duke Multidisciplinary Research and Education in Translational Sciences (MERITS)
Program Leader, Duke Consortium for Inflammatory Breast Cancer, Duke Cancer Institute

Duke University School of Medicine
2606 DUMC, MSRB1, Research Drive
Durham, NC 27710

Jasjit Ahluwalia, MD, MPH, MS

Vicki Ellingrod, Pharm.D.FCCP

John Gideon Searle Professor of Clinical and Translational Pharmacy, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy

Professor of Psychiatry, School of Medicine
Director, Education and Mentoring Group, MICHR
University of Michigan
428 Church Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Estela Estape, PhD

Estela Estape, PhD

University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus
PI and Director, Post-Doctoral Master of Science in Clinical and Translational Research and Hispanics in Research Capability (HiREC) Endowment Program
School of Health Professions, Graduate Department
1st Floor University Hospital
Medical Sciences Campus
PO Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936-5067

Katherine E. Hartmann, MD, PhD

Katherine E. Hartmann, MD, PhD

Associate Dean, Clinical and Translational Scientist Development
Deputy Director, Institute of Medicine and Public Health
Director, Graduate Studies in Epidemiology
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
2525 West End Avenue
Suite 600
Nashville, TN 37203


Christopher John Lindsell, PhD

Director, Vanderbilt Institute for Clinical and Translational Research Methods Program
Associate Director, Center for Clinical Quality and Improvement Research
Professor, Department of Biostatistics
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
2525 West End Avenue
Suite 1100
Nashville, TN 37203


George A. Mashour, MD, PhD
Associate Dean, Clinical & Translational Research, Medical School
Executive Director, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research
Executive Director, Translational Research, Office of Research

University of Michigan
1600 Huron Parkway 
Building 400
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2800

Office: 734-998-7474

Gary Rosenthal, MD

Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
1 Medical Center Blvd
Winston-Salem, NC 27157

Kathleen Stevens,RN, MS, EdD, ANEF FAAN

Kathleen R. Stevens, RN, MS, EdD, ANEF, FAAN

University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio
Professor, PI of the Improvement Science Research Network
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
Mail Code 7949
San Antonio, TX 78229-39

Robert Toto, MD

Robert Toto, MD

Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research 
Distinguished Teaching Professor
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
5323 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, Texas 75390-8548

Liaisons to the Board of Directors*

*Non-voting Board Member

JCTS Editor: Liason to the Board of Directors

Arthur M. Feldman, MD, PhD

Laura H. Carnell Professor of Medicine
Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University
Editor, Journal of Clinical and Translational Science
Suite 942 Parkinson Pavilion
3401 N Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19140