Current Trends in Qualitative Methodology for Translational Science Research and Evaluation

Wednesday, July 8, 2020 

Pacific 9:00 am - 10:00 am
Mountain 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Central 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Eastern 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Registration

Click here to register.

Description:

The purpose of this panel is to demonstrate the application of current qualitative methods to evaluate clinical and translational science programs, organizations, and enterprises. Time will be distributed evenly to the five presenters, who will speak for 8 minutes and allow for 4-5 minutes of Q & A. The five presenters and their topics are as follows:  

  • Clara Pelfrey(Case Western Reserve University).  Using the story-telling approach to qualitative data analysis, we interview researchers and develop a timeline with critical events - including major markers of success and scientific tipping points - as well as the invaluable collaborations that fostered moving the translational process forward.
  • Joseph Kotarba (University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston).  Using the participant- observer approach to qualitative research, we are studying the presence of music in the everyday life of senior adults in residential settings.  The full integration of program volunteers in both data collection and immediate application to end-of-life care regimens extends the  translational approach to community outreach holistically.
  • Elias Samuels (University of Michigan). Using mixed-methods we interviewed and surveyed clinical research professionals at four hubs about their professional development and tracked their online training activity through an e-Portfolio in order to evaluate the impact of the DIAMOND portal on the clinical and translational research workforce.
  • Tanha Patel (University of North Carolina).  Using semi-structured interviews, we hope to better understand how our resources and programs are contributing to the development of researchers and their research projects at our institution.
  • Julie Rainwater(University of California-Davis). Ripple Effect Mapping can be used to visually present the impact of translational science.  This is a participatory method that answers the question “then what happened?” by combining four evaluation methods:  one-to-one and/or group interviews, document analysis, visual mapping, qualitative data analysis.

 We hope you can join us for what promises to be an exciting and timely discussion.  If you have any questions, please contact Joe or Clara.  The session is advertised and co-listed as an official TS2020 event and a TRE TIG webinar.  Please remember to register if you want to attend.

Clara Pelfrey, (cmp11@case.edu)

Joe Kotarba, (jk54@txstate.edu)