TS2017 Conference Pages Banner.jpg
Home Registration Hotel Schedule

Translational Science 2017 Awards Program

ACTS 1.png        ACTS 2.png        Team Science Award.png
AFMR.png        PhRMA.png

ACTS Distinguished Investigator Awards

Three awards will be given at Translational Science 2017 that recognize senior investigators whose innovative research or education leadership has had a major impact on or through clinical and translational science. The recipients of these awards will each be awarded $1,000 and compensation for travel expenses.

The three Distinguished Investigator Awards include:

  • Translation from bench research to patient application – the Edward H. Ahrens, Jr. Award for Patient-Oriented Research
  • Translation from early clinical use to applicability for widespread clinical practice
  • Translation from clinical use into public benefit and policy

Selection Criteria

  • Nominations are invited of senior investigators who have had an impact to clinical and translational science resulting in a major change in clinical practice and health care for the benefit of the public
  • It is expected that the awardee will have often led teams of scientists in these efforts

The selection process will reflect the commitment of translational science sponsoring and partnering organizations to diversity, including (but not limited to) gender, race, ethnicity, and academic institutions.

ACTS Distinguished Educator Award

This award will be presented during Translational Science 2017 to a clinical investigator who has distinguished him or herself as a mentor and leader. Students and trainees are also invited to submit nominations. The recipient of this award will be awarded $1,000 and compensation for travel expenses.

Selection Criteria

Nominees should meet or exceed the following criteria:

  • Distinguished career as a clinical investigator
  • Innovator of a clinical research training program
  • Outstanding success as a mentor
  • Documented national leadership in clinical research education programs, issues and funding

Please note that ACTS board members are ineligible for this award.

Team Science Award

This award has been established by ACTS to acknowledge and catalyze the growing importance of interdisciplinary teams to the translation of research discoveries into clinical applications and eventually widespread clinical practice. Proactive interaction between academic and industry researchers is particularly crucial to continue progress and accelerate drug development.

The team selected to receive the 2017 Team Science Award will collectively be and be recognized during Translational Science 2017. The representative institutions will be cited at the meeting for their leadership role in fostering team science.

Selection Criteria

Nominations of teams will be considered for institutions that have demonstrated their support of a team science environment by creating mechanisms to enhance the required infrastructure, such as through pilot funding, technology transfer offices, shared resources, etc., and by presenting awards, honors, appointments, and promotions to those who participate in interdisciplinary teams.

For the purpose of this Award, a team is comprised of independent faculty-level researchers providing complementary interdisciplinary expertise, each of whom have made separate substantive and quantifiable contributions to the research being recognized. Team members may be working within the same institution or at several institutions; however, if researchers are in the same institution, they must have clearly separate funding and research space. Teams comprising academic and industry researchers will be accepted.

Additional Requirements for Team Science Award

  • The name and contact information for one main point of contact who currently serves on the team being nominated must be included.
  • A list of all members of the team, their professional titles and affiliations, with a description of each member's substantive and quantifiable contribution to the team, must be included.
  • The primary concentration of research area must be indicated.
  • A narrative describing in-depth the research accomplishment or accomplishments for which the team is being nominated, as well as the significance and impact of the research, must be included.
  • A descriptive list of institutional support of the team, such as pilot funding, technology transfer offices, shared resources, etc., must be included.

AFMR Outstanding Investigator Award

The Outstanding Investigator Award is presented annually to an investigator age 45 or younger in recognition of excellence in biomedical research. The recipient of this award will receive one-year complimentary AFMR membership, a Certificate of Excellence, $2,500 honorarium and up to $500 in travel reimbursement. In addition, the recipient will be required to present his/her research at the AFMR Henry Christian Awards Reception.

Selection Criteria

Nominees should meet or exceed the following criteria:

  • Investigative work has provided innovative insight and had significant impact on a major scientific or clinical problem.
  • Demonstrated intellectual and scientific independence.
  • Must be a member of the AFMR and forty five years of age or less at the time of presentation of the award.

Visit AFMR's website to learn more, and to apply.

PhRMA Foundation Translational Medicine & Therapeutics Awards

The PhRMA Foundation is currently accepting applications for Translational Medicine & Therapeutics fellowships and grants. Up to five (5) awards will be presented at Translational Science 2017. Award categories include:

  • Pre-Doctoral Fellowships ($25K - $50K)
  • Sabbatical Fellowships ($40K)
  • Research Starter Grants ($50K - $100K)
  • Post-Doctoral Fellowships ($80K - $120K)

Visit the PhRMA Foundation website to learn more, and to apply today! All submissions are due by Wednesday, February 1.

Nomination Requirements and Submission Instructions

  • Any ACTS or AFMR member is eligible to submit nominations for each award, with the exception of the AFMR Outstanding Investigator, which is only open to nominations from AFMR members. Self-nominations are welcome.
  • Nominators should submit the nominee's name, institution, and a summary of the nominee's key contributions based on the above criteria, not to exceed three (3) pages.
  • Letters of support from up to three (3) additional individuals familiar with the nominee's contributions and an NIH Biosketch may also be submitted.
  • Nominations for the AFMR Outstanding Investigator Award and the PhRMA Foundation Translational Medicine & Therapeutics Awards should be submitted via their respective organization websites.
  • Nominations for the Distinguished Investigator, Distinguished Educator, and Team Science awards must be submitted via the form below.